7 Promises from the Blessed Mother for Devotion to Her Sorrows – EpicPew

7 Promises from the Blessed Mother for Devotion to Her Sorrows

Our Lady of Sorrows is celebrated on September 15, on the octave day of the feast of the Blessed Mother Mary’s nativity on September 8th—two big Marian feast days. Her Immaculate Conception, the celebration of her being immaculately conceived without the stain of Original Sin, led to her life in salvation history, conceiving and giving birth to our Savior, and to suffer in union with his sufferings.

The devotion of Our Lady of Sorrows recalls the suffering of Mary prophesied by Simeon in the temple at the time of the dedication of Jesus. “This child is destined for the falling and the rising of many in Israel, and to be a sign that will be opposed so that the inner thoughts of many will be revealed—and a sword will pierce your own soul too” (Luke 2).

Promises of Our Lady of Sorrows

Through the devotion to Our Lady of Sorrows, we unite our own suffering with that of the Blessed Mother’s. Imagine what it was like for Mary to watch her beloved Son—both God and man—beaten and bloodied, carrying the cross he would be crucified on. We remember and honor the suffering of both Jesus and the Blessed Mother by this daily devotion.

Through the visions of St. Bridget of Sweden, the Blessed Virgin Mary revealed that she grants seven graces to the souls who honor her daily by saying seven Hail Mary’s and meditating on her tears and dolors. The Seven Sufferings, also sometimes referred to as the Seven Dolors, come from Scripture. Although the feast of Our Lady of Sorrows falls on September 15, the prayers honoring the Seven Sorrows of Our Lady can be said anytime throughout the year.

Here are the 7 promises revealed to Saint Bridget by the Blessed Mother to those who honor her by daily meditating on her tears and sorrows and saying one Hail Mary with each meditation.

1. I will grant peace to their families.
2. They will be enlightened about the divine mysteries.
3. I will console them in their pains and I will accompany them in their work.
4. I will give them as much as they ask for as long as it does not oppose the Adorable Will of my Divine Son or the sanctification of their souls.
5. I will defend them in their spiritual battles with the infernal enemy and I will protect them at every instant of their lives.
6. I will visibly help them at the moment of their death; they will see the face of their mother.
7. I have obtained (this Grace) from my Divine Son, that those who propagate this devotion to my tears and sorrows, will be taken directly from this earthly life to eternal happiness since all their sins will be forgiven and my Son will be their eternal consolation and joy.

The Seven Sorrows

These are the seven promises Our Lady made, as communicated to St. Bridget of Sweden, to those who are devoted to meditating on her Seven Sorrows: They should not be confused with the five Sorrowful Mysteries of the Rosary:

1. The Prophecy of Simeon. (Luke 2:34–35)
2. The escape and flight into Egypt. (Matthew2:13)
3. The Loss of the Child Jesus in the Temple of Jerusalem. (Luke 2:43–45)
4. The Meeting of Mary and Jesus on the Via Dolorosa.
5. The Crucifixion of Jesus on Mount Calvary. (John19:25)
6. The Piercing of the Side of Jesus, and His Descent from the Cross. (Matthew 27:57–59)
7. The Burial of Jesus by Joseph of Arimathea. (John 19:40–42)

I deeply encourage you, on the upcoming feast, to join with me in venerating our Blessed Mother in her sufferings, in order to grow closer to Christ in his.

Featured Image: Pixabay. Free for commercial use. No attribution required.